Tuesday, June 30, 2009

Pandemic Phases : Phase 1 to Phase 6

The World Health Organization(WHO) has raised the Pandemic alert for H1N1 Influenza A(Swine Flu) to Level 6.This has caused 'situation of panic' among many countires.However,what we fail to understand is the meaning of this!!.The alert level has been raised on the basis of spread and certainly not on the basis of severity.
It is important to understand what does different phases.There are actually 1-6 phases and each of these are described as follows:
  • Phase 1 : Low risk of human cases
  • Phase 2 : Higher risk of human cases
  • Phase 3 : No or very limited human to human transmission
  • Phase 4 : Evidence of increased human to Human transmissions
  • Phase 5 : Evidence of significant Human to Human transmission
  • Phase 6 : Efficient and sustained Human to Human transmission

I hope this information helps in better understanding!

Have a Influenza-free life!!!!!!

1 comment:

Breast cancer symptoms said...

thanks for sharing the information on WHO.